The Progressive Party (PP), which was founded in 1959 by Liberal members who had separated from the United Party, was the precursor to the current Democratic Alliance. They were dissatisfied that UP could not offer an alternative to the National Apartheid Party's policies. PP stresses constitutional reform, bills and independent judiciary, as well as moves towards federalism.

These reform proposals were paired with the support of a free market economy. Helen Susman, the only woman elected to Parliament in 1961, was the only one. He was the only opponent to racial discrimination in the apartheid regime's white parliament for 13 years, fighting against extrajudicial detention and passing laws. To know more about democratic alliance, you can visit

Image Source: Google

Since 1971, Colin Eglin has been leader of the party without ever being a member. The party won seven seats in 1974.

One year later, in July 1975 the Progressive Party merged into the Reform Party (RP), a breakaway Unity Party. The South African Progressive Reform Party was formed. Harry Schwartz, a former leader of Reform Party, was appointed as the leader of PRP National Executive while Eglin was elected as its leader.

The South African Party is another branch of UP (reviving the original SAP title). The NRP and SAP, both more conservative than PFP, envision a federal solution for the country's racial issues. The SAP merged with the National Party in 1980 and moved closer to the National Party. A growing league trend within National Party favors expanding non-white participation in politics.

Posted in Business And Management